Protecting our seas? That’s champion

Green Sea Turtle, Marsa AlamAfter I’d signed up to do the MCS Big Swim, I knew I wanted to keep doing more to help save our seas.

So I decided to go one step further with the Marine Conservation Society and applied to be a Sea Champion. I was thrilled to find out I would be joining others in my region to fight for the future of of our oceans.

If you’re already concerned about the plight of our shores and wildlife, I hope you’ll join me in our initiatives to make a real change. And if you’re not fussed and think that the watery world doesn’t concern you, I’ll be doing my best to change your mind that it does.

For now, take this simple nugget with you – the oceans provide 50% of the air we breathe. Without them, we would die. And yes, there’s a frightening possibility that our behaviour as a human race is putting this lifeline at risk irreversibly – in as early as the next 40 or 50 years, scientists predict. This is why I’ve decided to become a Sea Champion and take action now. We can’t put this off and get round to it later; it’s now or never.

I’m so excited to get cracking and meet the other Sea Champions in my region. I already had a chat with my region co-ordinator and bounced off a few ideas. We are going to get noticed! But before we dazzle you with our amazing displays of campaigning (always with your help of course), you can do your bit right now. And the beauty of it? It’s so easy. You don’t need to do any homework or anything.

  • Eat sustainable fish – the downloadable Good Fish Guide helps you make sustainable choices. There’s so much yummy fish to choose from – don’t just stick to, say, cod, which is being fished to the brink of collapse.
  •  Reduce, reuse, recycle – say no to plastic bags and avoid plastic packaging. Do you want to be responsible for Mr. Turtle choking to death?
  • Think before you flush. All drains lead to the sea, don’t flush any sanitary items – they may just end up on a beach. Tampons on a beach stroll = not cool.
  • Balloons end up as litter on our beaches or lodged in animals’ stomachs after being mistaken for food. Just keep a hold of them – it’ll probably save you the hassle of comforting a wailing toddler too.

And do you know the best thing about getting involved in marine conservation? We can make a change if we all act now.

Love and Bubbles,

Karli x

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

3 thoughts on “Protecting our seas? That’s champion

  1. Well done Karli for doing something you believe in. As for your recommendations above, they should be easy, as I’ve commented before, you must the only person to ask the assistant in the chip shop if the fish was sustainable! I don’t have cod, I discovered a new fish at a fish restaurant on holiday, Rosado fish, hope that’s sustainable. Also I have chanted the reduce, reuse, recycle phrase so many times with children at the Sustainable Schools conference every year, I can do that.

    Like

Leave a comment